Career Discussions Clearing Level 1 to Change Industry

Clearing Level 1 to Change Industry

• Author
      Participant
        • CFA Level 2
        Up
        ::

I’m an American in Australia. I took up a job in FMCG company as a non-permanent resident 5 years ago. Working holiday turned into a life-changing move. Now that I am a resident and have more choice, plus a mid-life/quarter life crisis  perhaps, I am looking at getting into the IB field. I recently left a very well paying job to get an entry level position at a bank (think superannuation – 401k – pension). I have an interview for a top tier consulting firm in Jan (yet to receive a confirmation email though).

Has anyone had any luck in switching industries or even a job after clearing level 1? Is it worth waiting after clearing level 2? I’ve always had the mindfulness to hire on  attitude rather than aptitude in a lot of situations. I see top tier grads coming in not knowing a lot and be given countless more opportunities; rather, I should say I’m baffled at the disconnect between HR and the hiring manager sometimes. When I left my FMCG job I applied to a number of IB jobs where rejection letters came in like the 7am morning report. I’m just seeking help for someone who is late 20s changing industry to get an opportunity in an IB.

-Ron

• Up