CFA CFA Level 2 Concepts vs. Formulae – Which is more prevalent on Level 2?

Concepts vs. Formulae – Which is more prevalent on Level 2?

• Author
      ::

I feel like I keep hearing Schweser dudes mention the fact that we should focus on the concepts. I know there will obviously be some math based questions, but is it more about knowing the direction, and perhaps the sensitivity of inputs for the more detailed formulas?  I have the Quicksheet and see that it’s really filled with a plethora of variable-heavy formulae, so that overwhelmed me at first. FYI, I started studying about 4 days ago, so anything, anything would be much appreciated.

For example of the type of daunting equations I’m speaking of: ARCH/Variance of ARCH(from Quant)? Target Payout Dividend Policy (I just hate this one)? Modern term structure models?  

I have some areas down, but certain areas(Quant, Port. MGMT, any one of these weird dudes that felt the need to tweak a model and rebrand em – Pastor Strambaugh, Taylor Rule, Breusch Pagan, Dicky Fuller, Durban Watson) I am bit fearful of. I’m going to try out a test tomorrow, so I’ll follow up too haha.

Stuff I’m not concerned about: Pension/Consolidation/Derivatives/Level 1 stuff

Seriously, anything at all is greatly appreciated!

Sameer

• Up

Thanks for the tips! Didn’t mean to reject your answer, I just wanna keep em coming haha. Probably shouldn’t have set this up as a question.

Just took a practice run at 50 FRA MCQ: 72% but that was with immediate feedback.

Participant
        • CFA Level 3
        Up

The test is 60% conceptual and 40% mathematical. Meaning, 40% of the questions will require calculations. You will definitely want to know all of these you mentioned “Pastor Strambaugh, Taylor Rule, Breusch Pagan, Dicky Fuller, Durban Watson”.