CFA CFA Level 1 CFA Level I Study Packages

CFA Level I Study Packages

• Author
      ::

I need help/guidance regarding 7City vs. Elan. Due to personal challenges the past 4 months, I’m just getting started studying and need all the help I can get. I’m overwhelmed with choices and just need to get on a solid track. I’d like a lot of practices questions or mock exams and audio or video would be very helpful. Can anyone share a few thoughts?

• Up

Unfortunately I haven’t used either and I didn’t even know of their existence until I started browsing forums. Is there a reason why you excluded Schweser from possible choices? I used Schweser for level I and I am currently using it for level II. They offer practice exams and they have a question bank that is really helpful and has enough questions to keep you busy for a long time!

• Up

I haven’t personally used 7city, but Elan’s videos are awesome. They have more than 90 hours of lectures for Level I. Does anyone know how many hours 7city has?

Also, Elan has 5 volumes of proper study guides. 7 city’s “study guide” is just slides.

• Up

I passed Levels 1 and 2 with 7city, would highly recommend!

Participant
        • CFA Charterholder
        Up

I’d say the issue is not really the method but the time constraint though. Like @christine said, be strict with your program and make sure you stick to it and don’t fall behind. Good luck @CFACountdown!

• Up

Thanks for sharing your experience with Elan @cfaguru! My understanding is 7city has 100-120 hours of online lectures.

Yes the learning style of 7City is different. Their slide style format works better for those who prefer interactive learning.

• Up

I’m not sure if this is true, but I’ve heard that Elan guides have more typos. I have a friend who’s currently using Elan. The notes do seem to cover more material than Schweser, but they do not seem as well-organized.

Participant
          • CFA Level 1
          Up