CFA CFA General Breaking Into Finance

Breaking Into Finance

• Author
      Participant
        • Undecided
        Up
        ::

Hello all – I’m currently studying for the Level I exam and hope to pull apart enough couches and recliners to scrap up the money to meet the March 2014 registration deadline. While I’m initially reaching out to say hello and introduce myself, I’m hoping some of the experienced (and less experienced if you see fit) members can provide some insight given my current situation. Ultimately, regardless of what the consensus might be, I’m going to pursue the CFA with every bit of my energy because I believe, among other things, it’s the best shot I have to get out of an industry I feel I’m doomed to be in – I’m simply interested any advice (whether good or bad) I can use to help myself make the transition.

Anyway, I received a Bachelor’s degree in Philosophy from Rutgers University in New Brunswick in May 2011. More recently, I’ve been working as an account representative, which includes a bit of project management and operational stuff, at a small office furniture installation company. I have no experience in finance whatsoever. I initially had ambitions to pursue an MBA in finance after graduating, but I chose to join the Marine Corps to “find myself” as it were. I was quickly discharged for an orthopedic impairment. I currently don’t have the money, nor any remote desire to take on another loan, to pursue an MBA. I also prefer to rely on educating myself rather than institutional training as well as gaining a more specialized knowledge in the field of analysis and research. This is why I think the CFA is right for me.