Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

CFA Events Calendar

View full calendar

CFA Events Calendar

View full calendar

Recommended Discussions

See how our partners can help you ace your CFA exams.

Out of school for a while

Hello,

I graduated back in 2006  with a BS in Finance and after some years in the army (one of which spent on a combat tour in Afghanistan) and some more years working in finance/banking I am still interested in possibly starting the CFA.  I am concerned that I have forgotten a lot in the time Ive been away from school.  For instance I havent used an HP 12 C in over 5 years.  I tutored my wife durring her finance section for her MBA so I haven't lost everything. 

Is there any advice regarding how I could best prepare and/or additional things to do so that this doesnt turn into a waste of money or time.

Any advice or similar experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Muneera

Comments

• ZeeZee London - UKPosts: 1,541 Jr Partner
    Hey @Chris7906‌ 

I doubt this will be 'a waste of money and time' simply because you've forgotten your school material. Many candidates (myself included) started with a base knowledge of finance of 0 (in our analysis report we find that this doesn't influence performance at all, in fact the opposite is true). 

@Sophie‌ can comment more about this as she's economics-trained before CFA, but she also has mentioned many times that CFA Level I starts with the basics and should be perfectly doable, especially if you're also currently in finance.
    Chris7906
  • bostonCFA2014bostonCFA2014 Boston, MAPosts: 7 Associate