Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

CFA Events Calendar

View full calendar

CFA Events Calendar

View full calendar

Recommended Discussions

See how our partners can help you ace your CFA exams.

Looking at the CFA, but the job doesn't fit!

Hello!

I'm a new graduate with a background in neuroscience and business. I work at a small engineering firm doing sales and database administration and I'm tenured to work here for the next 2 years. I was planning on getting an MBA at the end of that time period, but recently the prospect of a CFA popped up on my radar. I've done my due diligence and I believe it to be a much better fit for my career goals.

I've documented my time and I can pull 12 hours a week easily, with 16-18 also doable with a little shuffling around. I can make time for the studying. My problem is the job qualifications: my job doesn't meet the bill for the 4 years of work experience, and I can't transfer jobs for another 2 years.

So my question is, is this worth it? If I have the drive and the time to get my CFA, is it a waste of my time to get it when I'll have to transfer jobs and work for another 4 years before it becomes applicable?

And a follow-up: If I were to get my CFA, work at my current job for 3 years, and then go and get my MBA would that be a boost to my application or would it be useless without the work experience?

I appreciate any thoughts and feedback the community has; the CFA really seems to be a good fit but I don't want to proceed with such an investment if it is a wholly illogical one :)

Regards,
Xytal

Comments

• ZeeZee London - UKPosts: 1,541 Jr Partner
    Hey @Xytal‌, welcome :) It depends on your career goals. If you see yourself eventually in investing and finance, it's always a good idea to pursue the CFA charter. Experience will come later, but you should utilise the drive you currently have to take it :)