Career Discussions First interview! Any tips from the pros here?

First interview! Any tips from the pros here?

• Author
      Participant
        • CFA Charterholder
        Up
        ::

Total newbie, and nervous for the upcoming interview with HR of an investment bank. Jostling for a place in their investment banking graduate program. Any tips on things to prepare for the interview/questions etc?

• Up

@christine, @imdnextbuffett thanks so much for the useful tips! Helps with the jitters… 1 week countdown

It would be positive for you. 😉

Participant
          • CFA Charterholder
          Up

@hairyfairy, @Tonypetrunin – thank you so much wise ones! STAR is a good framework to stick to #:-S

• Up

Good luck! @reena

Participant
            • CFA Charterholder
            Up

Good luck @diya! That’s networking like a pro :)]

Participant
              • CFA Charterholder
              Up

Get enough people on this forum (that are nice), and we can start a networking club!

I would join this club!

Participant
                • CFA Charterholder
                Up

Something to share with you all! Thank you for your help. (I think) interview went ok, no major disaster (yet). Fingers crossed!

• Up

Also, make sure you read through the same version of the CV you sent into this firm – this is what all your interviewers will read before going in to interview you, so make sure you know this inside out!

So true, know CV inside out as well as “your story” & “why finance / banking”

I got asked 0 technical questions in my first two interviews

Participant
                  • CFA Charterholder
                  Up

Also, make sure you read through the same version of the CV you sent into this firm – this is what all your interviewers will read before going in to interview you, so make sure you know this inside out!

Participant
                    • CFA Level 2
                    Up