CFA CFA Level 1 CFA Level 1 – December 2014 – Behind Schedule – Need Advice

CFA Level 1 – December 2014 – Behind Schedule – Need Advice

• Author
      Participant
        • CFA Charterholder
        Up
        ::

Hi all, 

I started studying for the CFA Level 1 taking place in December 2014. I started at the beginning of May 2014 and made the mistake of spending too much time on the first readings and now that the day of the exam is coming closer, I’m like oh sh*t! I’m so damn behind! O.O. I have completed LOS 1 through LOS 26. Basically, I am finished with Ethics, Quantitative Methods, Economics, and I’m half way through FR&A. As I looked at my planner, I realized I took too long for Quantitative Methods and Economics. If I read at the same speed and put the same amount of effort on the remaining topics, I won’t be able to finish by November 6 and start the practice tests, which I really don’t want to miss! I have the Schweser videos, books, and the CFAI printed and digital books. What do you think about reading the end of the chapter summaries, watching the videos, doing the end of the chapter questions, and skip most of the reading? I don’t think it is the ideal approach, but at this point I feel that if I try to understand every single item in the curriculum and read about it, I won’t be able to finish. Any recommendations are welcome 🙂 – Especially from those of you who passed the test successfully. 

• Up

@ec_cfatest‌ Hey. I think @Maroon5‌ , has given a fantastic idea. That’s how I study too and it’s pretty effective.   

From my experience,  Schweser Videos are good for revision but they cannot substitute reading from Schweser Notes.

Are you working somewhere? Do you have a finance background? How many hours per day can you dedicate to studying? If I know that then I can give you some more tips.

Here are a few links to blog posts on this community that will help:-