Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

CFA Events Calendar

View full calendar

Recommended Discussions

See how our partners can help you ace your CFA exams.

Is the CFA worth it for an MBA/CPA?

Hello all,

Brand new to 300hours.com and already a lot on my mind. I am wondering if the community can help me in making a very important career, academic and personal decision.

For the last couple of years, every year I kick around the idea of going forward with the CFA exam. Not counting this time, every year I said it wasn't going to be feasible. I'm wondering this time around: is it worth it?

Here is my background: I have a CPA as well as an MBA from a very well known university. I thought I was 'done' with school when I completed my MBA but now was wondering was could further boost my credentials and my career. I work in corporate banking and have my own consulting business as well - I believe the CFA charter would be a credible addition to both my corporate career and my consulting business. I think things that worry me are lack of motivation and effort as well as finding the time to study and scared of failure on the exams. I've tried to push a lot of work/life balance in recent years and I guess I'm worried to derail that.

Any advice would be great and much appreciated in making this very important decision.

Thank you.

Comments

• ZeeZee London - UKPosts: 1,525 Jr Partner
    The value of a CFA charter to your career will depend heavily on the nature of your role - can you share more on that?

As for your consulting business, I think it will be a lot more relevant, as sales will depend on reputation (and CFA adds to that). But again it also depends on your business (I'm assuming asset management related or similar?)
    Homer: He might have all the money in the world, but there’s one thing he can’t buy. Marge: What’s that? Homer: .......A dinosaur The Simpsons
  • Thanks Zee for the feedback!